CAF release 2018 awards nominee shortlist, Malawi’s Chawinga obvious inclusion – – Clubs, Football,Baseball,Basketball,Soccer,Hockey,Tennis and societies in Malawi

CAF release 2018 awards nominee shortlist, Malawi’s Chawinga obvious inclusion

CAF release 2018 awards nominee shortlist, Malawi’s Chawinga obvious inclusion
Share Button

The Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) has today released a list of nominees for the 2018 African football best achievers which have been grouped in seven categories.

The shortlist includes the following categories: African Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Men’s Coach of the Year, Women’s Coach of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year, and Women’s National Team of the Year.

According to CAF statement on its website, the shortlist was voted by CAF Technical & Development Committee members.

“The journey towards the coronation of best performers for the CAF Awards 2018 gathers momentum with the announcement of the shortlists for the various categories today.

“The shortlisted nominees were decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee,” reads the first part of the statement.

Meanwhile, on the Women’s Player of the Year category Malawi’s multi-award winning female footballer, Tabitha Chawinga, has been included on the list after her successful debut in Chinese Women Premier League team; Jiangsu Suning, where she piped reigning African Women’s Footballer of the year Asisat Oshoala to win the golden boot with 17 goals, though his team finished second behind Oshoala’s Dalian Quanjian FC.

The Malawian also helped her team win two cups in China, and has recently been ranked above Oshoala on the Guardian Newspaper’s shortlist for 2018 worldwide best female players, despite failing to take her country to the Africa Women Cup of Nations won by Oshoala’s Nigeria.

As per the CAF’s final part of the statement, the deciding phase of the votes will be voted by CAF Media Experts and some specific voters, and the Awards Gala will be held in Senegal next year.

“The final phase will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and Coaches & Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

“The Awards Gala, to honour footballers and officials who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal,” specifies the last part of the statement.

The following is the full list and category: African Player of the Year; Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal),  Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax), Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance), Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City), Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool), Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly), Women’s Player of the Year; Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian), Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande), Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash), Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign), Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit), Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow), Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash),  Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang),  Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning), Youth Player of the Year; 1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd),  Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan), Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City), Men’s Coach of the Year;  Aliou Cisse (Senegal), Herve Renard (Morocco), Moine Chaabani (Esperance) Women’s Coach of the Year, Desiree Ellis (South Africa), Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon),Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria), Men’s National Team of the Year; Madagascar, Mauritania, Uganda, Women’s National Team of the Year; Cameroon, Nigeria, South Africa.

Share Button


A journalist by profession. Did journalism at Malawi Institute of Journalism. Currently working at Malawi Sports as an online sports journalist.